Why I Appreciate “Despicable Me 2”

I don’t fancy myself a serious theater enthusiast but on occasion I will endure two hours (plus previews) of someone else’s kid kicking the back of my seat while trying to cope with the injustice of a $12.00 bucket of popcorn. Suffice it to say, it’s not common practice for me to “go to the movies” unless I have a good reason to … and I’ve found that my kids are pretty good reasons.  That being said, I recently went to see the movie Despicable Me 2 in the theater with my kids, Kyla and Chase.  I’m not going to try to qualify myself as cinema expert or pseudo-movie critic but I would like to share why I left the theater last week with an unexpected appreciation for Universal Pictures and the movie Despicable Me 2.

From an entertainment standpoint, Despicable Me 2 was one of the funniest animated movies I’ve seen … it was hysterical.  On my first day off after a long week at work I expected to set the auto-pilot and zone-out, but I found myself engaged and laughing out-loud throughout the entire movie.  The plot, banter and character interaction was clever and relatively clean.  I have no complaints by way of entertainment; I left the theater a satisfied patron.  But, the satisfaction I felt for the witty dialogue and plot paled in comparison to my appreciation for the moral underpinnings of the movie.

The main character of movie is named Gru.  Gru is the voice of Steve Carrel using an eastern European accent.  Gru is a reformed super villain – once credited with stealing the moon – who decided to rehabilitate his sordid ways due to his love for three orphaned girls.  This was the plot thesis for the first Despicable Me movie.  Now, in Despicable Me 2, we find Gru doing his very best to love and care for his three adopted daughters.  Gru appears to be doing a fantastic job of parenting considering he’s not married and is a reformed crook.  However, throughout the movie we’re given different glimpses showing us that – even though Gru is trying to be the best father he can – there is still a sense of incompleteness within this family.  Gru and the girls are missing something, or more apropos someone, that they can’t seem to supplement or replicate on their own; this family needs a mom.  This becomes apparent to the audience around the time when Gru is enlisted (sort of kidnapped) by a government agency that monitors super-villain activity around the world.  The agent who enlisted (sort of kidnapped) Gru is named Lucy.  Lucy is the voice of Kristen Wiig and is the gregarious, daffy and kind-hearted handler for Gru throughout the movie.  Lucy and Gru work together to track a villain who is converting Gru’s lovable minions into slobbering purple monsters.  During their escapade Lucy and Gru develop a romance that culminates when Gru saves Lucy’s life.  At the end of the movie this romance has blossomed into something greater … something permanent involving wedding rings (not a spoiler).  And, as the movie concludes we see a family that is now complete and happy.

I find myself uncharacteristically yet sincerely thankful to Universal Pictures and the creators of Despicable Me 2 for advancing God’s design for a complete family.  Thank you writers and Universal Pictures for showing us that “it is not good for man to be alone” (Gen 2:18).  Thank you for showing us that it is good for men to be romantically attracted to women and good for women to be romantically attracted to men.  Thank you for showing us that it is good for men to valiantly protect women.  Thank you for showing us that marriage is sacred and should be celebrated.  Thank you for showing us that it is good and healthy for children to have a dad and mom in the home.  Thank you executives and cast of Despicable Me 2 for showing us God’s perfect design for marriage and family.

About Matt Brecht
Lead Pastor of NorthPointe Church

2 Responses to Why I Appreciate “Despicable Me 2”

  1. Julie Huver says:

    All of that is wonderful but you left out that one of the lead minions looks like Jed! 😉 thanks for your insights and for being a great dad who is willing to do something not of his choosing in order to spend time with his kudos!

Leave a Reply

